Speak Your Child’s Love Language

Speak Your Child’s Love Language


You have probably been exposed to, in some way or another, Gary Chapman’s Love Languages. (If you have not yet read this book, I highly recommend it.) I have used this tool in numerous situations when dealing with people of all ages. I would like to show you how you can apply the genius in this system to your own family.

In his book, Chapman explains that there are five different ‘love languages’ and each of us has a predominate language:

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Gifts
  • Acts of Service
  • Physical Touch

A person whose Love Language is Words of Affirmation needs you to validate their worth through your comments. These people will work for nothing if you just tell them what a great job they are doing! Quality Time is pretty self-explanatory; these individuals need time with you to feel your love. A person whose love language is Gifts feels loved when presented with tangible items; this individual loves ‘things’. An Acts of Service person hears their language spoken when another does something for them. The final Language is Physical Touch; this is not to be confused with romantic touch. The Physical Touch person is exemplified for the person who feels love through a hug or a pat on the back.

Take a minute to think about your love language and then take some time to discover the Languages your family members speak. This is a great tool that can enhance communication and allow you to connect with those most important to you.